To be able to manage significant volumes of chat, it is possible to activate the automatic assignment of conversations (one each, also known as round robin assignment) to the team members within your account.
You can activate this function from the settings of your account, under the "Assigment rules" tab:
Once automatic assignment is enabled, you can decide to exclude team members from the incoming chat assignment.
In addition, you can decide to include (or exclude) agents from automatic assignment based on their "status" (online / offline). For more information on how agent status works, click here.
Finally, it is possible, in case you have activated the option to assign new chats only to available agents (the second option of the list must be deactivated as in the screenshot below), you will be allowed to activate a last option which will allow to automatically reassign to an available agent a previously closed chat that is reopened by a new message from the customer, when the agent to which it was previously assigned is unavailable.
Why this can be useful?
Let's suppose that a customer contacts you for the first time ever. If you have automatic assignment on the conversation will be automatically routed to one of the available agents, John.
John replies and the client is happy 🎉
After doing that John marks the conversations as "closed" and moves on to the next question.
One week after, the same customer asks a new question but John, in the meanwhile, set himself as "away" because he took some vacation time.
That said, if you enabled the "Reassign closed conversations if assigned agents are not available" option, Callbell will automatically reassign the conversation to one of your next available agents:
In our example, both William and Mary are available. The auto-assignment algorithm picks "William", which replies to the customer within minutes and everybody wins:
- The customer got always a fast reply ⚡️
- The business never lost visibility on that returning message
When not to activate this option
If your business relies on assigning leads permanently on first touch or you don't want to move conversations automatically between collaborators then you won't probably need this enabled.